Baxter's Blog

NEW POST ON WEBSITE!

Posted in Road Trip Stuff by misterroadtripper on January 26, 2011

READ THE LATEST TATTOO TALK!

Just posted on my www.tattooroadtrip.com website…. a story about the early days and a Tip of the Week about portrait tattoos!

Bob Baxter’s TATTOO TALK

In my very first Editor’s Comment way back in May of 1997, I told about a hotel that I regularly visited in Santa Fe, New Mexico. In my excitement to involve friends in my new adventure, I called to book reservations for a two-day stay and an on-site photo shoot of local tattooed people. When I explained my intent, the manager suggested I book accommodations elsewhere. “We’d rather not have tattooed people on the premises,” she said.

The second example involved a photographer who did fabulous, dream-sequence photos. I though that her lush, hand-painted prints would establish a different look to the magazine, and offer an enterprising photographer like herself the perfect venue for experimentation. “Send me see a copy of your publication,” she told me. I did, and, a few days letter, got a note, saying, simply, “Not for me.”

Screw ’em!

READ MORE

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Click Here said, on January 30, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Very good mission. Carry on to keep writing!


Leave a Reply

