Baxter's Blog

TRAVEL NOTES

Posted in Gallery by misterroadtripper on December 2, 2010

MAURY IN NEPAL

The bus was vintage 1950 and packed with locals, produce and some livestock. I figured that if it rolled off the road I was probably better off riding on the roof. Then again, it might not make a whole lot of difference. Miss a turn on that mountain road, and the drop was about 2,000 feet. Anyway, I climbed up and we headed north and my first sight of the Himalayas on the horizon made me forget all about that.

I shared the bus roof with some local kids going to school, two Aussie ladies, a Japanese couple and a guy from Turkey. We had all comfortably wedged ourselves into the roof top cargo and fell into that affable sort of camaraderie that happens when complete strangers find themselves stuck together and far from hometown worries. We shared snacks, travel stories and my SPF-70 sunscreen.

When we stopped at a village, I climbed down to buy a meal of mo-mos, awesome Tibetan steamed dumplings stuffed with vegetables. They were topped with a splash of fiery hot sauce, wrapped in a sheet of newspaper and dispensed by the smiling lady who had just cooked them. And that’s where I met my first tattooed Nepalese guys.

—Maury Englander (Graven Images)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Uncle Tim said, on December 2, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Totally jealous!

  2. Travel Turkey said, on December 8, 2010 at 4:41 am

    Very nice text, thank you.


Leave a Reply

