Baxter's Blog

ARTIST’S PROFILE

Posted in Gallery, Human Interest by misterroadtripper on November 18, 2010

MARY’S QUILTS

My wife, Mary Gardner, is an artist. A potter, tile maker, clothing designer, gourmet cook and professional singer, Mary has been a quilt maker for many years. Her original designs incorporate fabrics from the Civil War, Depression era, Africa, Japan and fine Belgian linen. Here are two samples of her work, front and back. Pardon the snap-shotty look of the photos, but, in order to get the right lighting, Mary had to lay out the quilts on the lawn, while I hung out of the second-story window with my camera. I am extremely proud of her work and hope you enjoy it, too. Click to enlarge.

Central Park/side A

Central Park/side B

Omaha/side A

Omaha/side B

Omaha detail

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Babygirl said, on November 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Beautiful pictures

  2. Kirt Silver said, on November 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    These are amazing !

  3. mr.p said, on November 19, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Inspiring!! Now I know what to do w/20 years of old tattoo shop Tees.

  4. Eleanor said, on November 19, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    so nice to see another heavily tattooed quilter! my quilt mates are always shocked and amazed when the sweater comes off and the inked sleeve comes out, most can’t quite reconcile the apparent dichotomy of tattoos and quilts. I tell them it’s all about self expression and creative outlets. Mary’s quilts are gorgeous, I particularly love Omaha as I’m in the middle of designing a quilt with diamonds myself, and recently finished an Around-the-world quilt with a similar blended effect (all fabrics I bought in Kauai, so I call it Trip around the Island, same trip when I met and was blessed with ink from Uncle Tim). Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

