Baxter's Blog

HER VERY FIRST TIME!

Posted in Letters by misterroadtripper on October 22, 2010

A TRIP TO SEATTLE

I thought I would share this with you. I had this tattoo done, a little over a month ago. Let me know what you think. This is my first tattoo, created by Madame Vyvyn Lazonga of Seattle, Washington. It was my sixtieth birthday present to myself. I guess I am no longer a virgin! It is a Spider Chrysanthemum, and it took ten hours total tattooing Ink time. I was absolutely unaware of the process and the length of time required. BIG HURT! The Chrysanthemum is the Japanese Royal Seal.

I have actually been thinking about this for quite some time, and thought the time was right. I did a ton of homework and decided on Vyvyn. She is considered an icon, has been creating tattoos for close to forty years and has won numerous awards. Normally, it takes three to eight months to get an appointment with her, but I was referred by some friends who have authored magazines and books on the subject [Tattoo Road Trip], and she got me in for my first appointment in two weeks.

Because of the timeframe, I never saw the design, until I went up to Seattle. It is MUCH BIGGER than I thought it would be. Pretty amazing, for me, since I am such a control freak, especially with something that is now a part of my body for life. Here’s a link to her website gallery: (http://www.vyvyn.com/Gallery/vyvyngallery1.html).

—Akemi Allison

akemiat3377@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

