Baxter's Blog

PHOTO SHOOT IN VANCOUVER

Posted in Human Interest by misterroadtripper on October 1, 2010

THE TATTOO PROJECT” BODY. ART. IMAGE

By Leah Jung

Earlier in the year I was contacted via e-mail by a man named Vince Hemingson. It wasn’t a memorable or engaging message, but it was a serious inquiry in regards to my modeling, so I kept in touch. He requested my mailing address and claimed he was going to send me a copy of a tattoo documentary he was responsible for. I was apprehensive, but low and behold, a DVD appeared in my mailbox. So, I watched it. Not only was The Vanishing Tattoo documentary an enriching and smart journey, but I had already seen it, on the National Geographic channel, a year earlier. I was impressed. After a handful of phone conversations (Ha! The articulate, neutered voice on the other end of the line was, in fact, the same as the narrator’s from the Vanishing Tattoo!) and after the exchange of pertinent details, I was flown to Vince’s home city of Vancouver to be featured in his next production.

My experience working on The Tattoo Project: Body. Art. Image. was the most delightful and productive involvement I’ve had to date. I had been invited to a workshop where, as later described by Vince, “a hundred highly tattooed people exposed themselves to a dozen diverse photographic philosophies.”

Me in the makeup chair, photo by Bob Baxter.  Read a great write-up about his experience at this workshop: click here.

We were there to create something unforgettable. And we did just that. I was photographed by the best artists that Canada had to offer. I was introduced to some of the most fascinating people, and fed some of the most decadent French food Vancouver had to share. Vince knows how to keep his crew in good spirits regardless of stress level. NOW I am excited to share the fruits of our labor!! In addition to the pictures, there is also a video available which offers a sneak peek at what The Tattoo Project: Body. Art. Image is all about.

There are more, amazing captures AND VIDEO on the official introduction to the project at: The Vanishing Tattoo.com.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Vince Hemingson said, on October 1, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I’m a little worried about my “neutered” voice, although I hope it makes it easier to hit the high notes…

  2. Anonymous said, on October 1, 2010 at 11:08 am

    lol @Vince

  3. Leah Jung said, on October 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I posted about this on my page… a very nice surprise! Big fan of the blog. And Vince, forgive me…


Leave a Reply

