Baxter's Blog

LATEST UPDATE

Posted in Road Trip Stuff by misterroadtripper on August 26, 2010

JUST TO CLEAR THE AIR

I just saw the current issue of Skin&Ink, the magazine that I edited for nearly fifteen years. Once again, the implication in the Editor’s Comment in both the August and October issues is that I happily departed and will continued to be an enthusiastic contributor to future issues. Although I appreciate the publication’s kind words regarding my “enormous contribution,”  the fact is, I was flat-out fired, and for no other reason than economics. The publisher would no longer pay for an off-site, freelance editor (a position I have held since my days with Larry Flynt). Some readers even thought I had simply “retired.” Well, as Mark Twain once announced (after some confusion when a cousin, James Ross Clemens, was reported to be gravely ill),  “the report of my death was an exaggeration.” Similarly, the reports of my retirement are several light years from the truth.

—Bob Baxter

Leave a Reply

