Baxter's Blog

LETTER TO THE READERS

Posted in ANNOUNCEMENTS, Road Trip Stuff by misterroadtripper on August 25, 2010

Good morning. I’ll make it short and sweet. I just removed two postings, both of them regarding a rock ’n’ roller named Shifty and his return to the music scene after years of drug abuse and bad choices. Since I am building this Daily Blog and the tattooroadtrip.com website as a continuation of my support during the last fifteen years for the international tattoo scene, I am listening to what my viewers want… which is why I run numerous polls asking for your opinions. When I post a new item, there is always a Comment link at the bottom of each post. Guess what? I very rarely get a comment. But when I posted a blurb about a particular rocker named Shifty, I got fifty-six positive responses in two hours. Now I hear that certain tattoo enthusiastic are all twisted about my posting the Shifty story (because it wasn’t about tattoos, it was about Shifty). Over the years, I have purposely not posted stories about rock bands in my magazine because their tattoos were mostly second-rate and the emphasis was on the performers themselves, where they were playing next, what was the title of their new single and so on. I put my toe in the water, so to speak, and discovered it was way too hot. Or, in this case, way too upsetting to the purists out there. Sure, if Mick Jagger wants me to interview him about his tramp stamp, I’d go for it in a minute. And you’d love to read it. But that story would be about tattoos and not promoting someone’s music career. It’s not Shifty’s fault or that of his press people. They were simply reaching out for publicity. Hey, we’re all trying to attract an audience for what we do.

—Bob Baxter


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mel Noir said, on August 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Good for you, Bob, for giving your readers what they want to see! There are far too many so-called journalists out there who have no disregard for the reader, so I applaud your decision 🙂

    And hey, I don’t get many comments, either, haha 😉


Leave a Reply

