Baxter's Blog

WELCOME MIKE!

Posted in Bakaty's World by misterroadtripper on August 4, 2010

One of my favorite Skin&Ink columnists was Fineline Tattoo’s Mike Bakaty. Located at 2nd and 2nd in New York City, Mike’s sage advice and profound insights were buried in the back of the issues, so it’s time to bring them to light. Again, one of my favorite all-time writers (and that includes F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ernest Hemingway)… the incomparable Mike Bakaty.

Photo of Mike by Maury Englander.

BAKATY’S WORLD WITH MIKE BAKATY

A TATTOO IS A TATTOO IS A …?

One thing you never hear in a tattoo shop, when someone is looking at a person’s new tattoo is, “Holy mackerel, that looks like shit!” The general response is, “It looks great,” or at least a serious nod of approval. Then struggling for something to say, mumble, “Where did you get it?” making a mental note not to go to that place or person. What the hell, a tattoo’s a tattoo’s a tattoo.

You can’t help but wonder what some people are thinking, when they get the tattoo that they get, and who they get it from. It’s not just the image. More often than not, it’s in the underlying drawing―looking like it was done by a semi-talented twelve year old.

It can also be in the execution: knotted, broken, inconsistent line work, for example. It could be in the piss-poor shading, if any at all, or in splotchy, muddy colors. It’s everything that you don’t want to see in a permanent mark on the human body. A waste of precious skin. Though one has to admit that even a bad tattoo carries a certain punch, more often than not, the work was done by a “friend.” These same folks, unless it was a particularly brutal job, will swear undying allegiance to the person that did it, their artist/friend. When questioned, it’s “I don’t want to be unfaithful” or “ I don’t want to hurt their feelings.” And then there’s the eternal classic, “It didn’t take too well.” What the hell, a tattoo’s a tattoo’s a tattoo. As my son, Mehai, says, “You know, pop, people would rather have a good tattoo experience than a good tattoo.”

I think there’s truth in that.

Back around the time that it dawned on me that I could draw better than what I was doing off of the few sheets of commercial flash I had, I was tattooing a number of young guys from the Lower East Side, aspiring bent-nosed types, you know what I mean? Whenever they got work, you’d be paid in single dollar bills. If you did an eighty-buck piece, you got eighty singles. The one time I asked about it, the response was, “You do dollar action, you get dollar bills.”

One of these guys showed up one day wanting to get a grim reaper, which, of course, I had. The thing was, it was a piece of commercial flash. The image had passed through a hundred or more hands before it landed on that particular sheet. I thought it was really lame. The skull was lumpy and the teeth were disproportionate to the size. The fingers and arms looked like a bunch of weenies on the end of a stick. The drapery in the robes was non-existent. In other words, it looked like shit. I knew I could draw it better.

I ran this down to the kid and told him to give me a couple of days for the redraw. I did the skull without the lumps and made the teeth proportionate. The arms and fingers looked like bones, and it was more gestural. The robes looked like drapery out of a Renaissance painting. Not a bad job, if I said so myself. The upshot of the whole thing was, when the guy came back a few days later, I had him look at my drawing and compare it to the original. “Yours looks too real,” he proclaimed, as though he’d come face-to-face with the Reaper himself. “But the other one looks more like a tattoo. That’s the one I’ll have.” A tattoo’s a tattoo’s a tattoo.

The thing is, as you think about it, that attitude was not necessarily unjustified. The artwork, needlework and iconography of tattoo had remained basically the same for a hundred years or more, with minor variations. Everyone was doing the same thing. What stylistic differences that existed were not as per the hand of individuals, but rather regional. An “east coast” style was characterized by its telltale black shading, and a “west coast” style is where the modeling was done in color values. I’ve even heard of a “midwest” style, although, after thirty-odd years, I’m damned if I know what that might be. That’s all changed.

My old pal, E.J., brought to my attention a recent book, Micro Trends by Mark Penn with Kinny Zalesne. It states that back in the seventies there were about three hundred tattoo shops in the U.S.A.. Today there are more than four thousand. How many tattooers? Multiply that worldwide. On top of that, there’s a small army out there just drawing flash, some of it amazing.

We’ve seen a veritable flood of exposure and tattooed people―from five million in the seventies to an estimated thirty five million today. They encompass every racial ethnic and socio-economic class, a truly democratic cross-section. Who knows how many books, documentaries and periodicals? There’s been a tidal wave of talented individuals and an avalanche of availability in materials and equipment that have given rise to images and techniques that were unimaginable thirty years ago. And yet, with the quality of work being done these days, there are those still out there for whom a tattoo’s a tattoo’s a tattoo. You gotta wonder.

Catch you on the rebound.

―Mike Bakaty

Fineline Tattoo

21 First Avenue, New York City 10003

212-673-5154

mike@finelinetattoo.com

Leave a Reply

