Baxter's Blog

WHERE’S ZEKE?

Posted in Letters by misterroadtripper on August 2, 2010

FORWARD THIS TO ZEKE

Here’s an email that I received from a man who is searching for Zeke Owen, in order for Zeke to embellish his four-decade-old tattoo. Considering how much and how often Mr. Owen hits the highway, we thought that publishing this letter might up the chances of the two of you connecting. If you’re out there, Zeke, this is for you!

Zeke:
Thought you may like to see the tattoo that you did for me in 1968—’69, some forty years ago. I was around nineteen years old and now I am sixty-two. When I came to you, I had another tattoo that was done by a World War II tattooist. The one I got from him was an eagle with an anchor and USN. The eagle’s head looked like a turtle’s head, and I never took the bandage off until I walked into your shop and asked if you could fix it up. You said that you could and showed me the design that was usually put on a person’s chest. You covered it beautifully, and I appreciate what you did for me. I was thinking of adding to it (like a snake in the claws) and getting another piece for my other arm, but I haven’t found anyone that I can trust to do it.

I have been trying to locate you to ask if you will be around the Northeast U.S. If so, Idd like to set an appointment. I was at the tattoo convention at the Roseland and someone gave me your phone number. I called, but couldn’t get thru. Bottomline: Is there a chance that you can do something for me or would you recommend someone in my area who has learned your techniques? I live in Harrison, New York near Big Joe’s (White Plain), however, I don’t think he is in Mt. Vernon anymore, and I’m not sure that the original “Big Joe” is still the owner. Thanking you in advance for your help or advice.

—Nicky Mum
Nick@914signs.com

Leave a Reply

